HSRC COUNCIL



Professor Jakes Gerwel (Chair)

Chancellor, Rhodes University; Distinguished Professor, University of the Western Cape; Honorary Professor, University of Pretoria; Chairperson, Nelson Mandela Foundation and Mandela Rhodes Foundation

Dr Mark Orkin

HSRC President and Chief Executive Officer; former Head of Statistics South Africa



Dr Nolulamo Gwagwa

Independent consultant; former Chief Executive Officer of the Independent Development Trust and Deputy Director-General in the National Department of Public Works; Board member: FirstRand, Airports Company of SA, SA Post Office



Mr Enver Motala

Independent consultant for prominent institutions such as the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, CSIR, CHE, SAUVCA, CEPD, Nelson Mandela Foundation and DTI



Mrs Nonhlanhla Jordan Chief Executive Officer of the Women's Development Foundation



Mrs Phumelele Ntombela-Nzimande

Acting Director-General, Postal Policy, Department of Communications; member of the University of KwaZulu-Natal Council



Dr Vincent Maphai (until 31 October 2003)

Chairman of BHP Billiton South Africa Ltd



Mr Max Sisulu

Group General Manager of Sasol; former Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Denel (Pty) Ltd; Board member: Imperial Holdings, Stocks Building Africa; member of Economic Advisory Council to Premier of the Free State Province



Professor Wally Morrow

Chair of the Ministerial Committee on Teacher Education of the Department of Education; former Dean of the Faculty of Education, University of Port Elizabeth